EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

First Winner of New Flight Scholarship Named


Stuart Davis
Phil Beaudoin, president of Wright "B" Flyer Inc., congratulates William (Will) Everett, 16, of Xenia, Ohio, recipient of the first Mitchell Cary-Don Gum Memorial Aviation Scholarship awarded on December 17 in Dayton. (Photo credit: Timothy R. Gaffney)

December 20, 2012 - William Everett, 16, of Xenia, Ohio, received the inaugural Mitchell Cary-Don Gum Memorial Aviation Scholarship on Monday, December 17 - exactly 109 years after the Wright brothers' first powered flight. The scholarship pays for up to $1,500 of instruction toward a sport or private pilot certificate.

National Aviation Heritage Area officials presented the scholarship following the annual First Flight Anniversary ceremony at the Wright Brothers Memorial on Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in Dayton.

Since July 2012, Will has logged about 17 hours at Beaver Valley Aviation of Ohio, located at Greene County-Lewis A. Jackson Regional Airport in Xenia. He said the flying bug bit him at age 6 when Wayne Moyer, a member of EAA Chapter 382 in Xenia, took him up in a Piper Cub. Several EAA Young Eagles flights fed his passion, he said.

The scholarship honors Mitch Cary, EAA 704263, and Don Gum, EAA 685485, trustees and volunteer pilots for Wright "B" Flyer Inc., an NAHA partner. Both were killed in the 2011 crash of an experimental Wright "B" Flyer replica.


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map