EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

Poberezny Inducted Into the San Diego International Air & Space Hall of Fame

Tom Poberezny
Harrison Ford and Jim Kidrick, president/CEO of the San Diego International Air & Space Museum, with new hall of fame inductee EAA Chairman Emeritus Tom Poberezny. Credit: SharpShooter Imaging

November 9 2011 – Congratulations to EAA Chairman Emeritus Tom Poberezny, who last weekend was inducted into the San Diego International Air & Space Hall of Fame. Tom was honored for his leadership of EAA, his 25-year air show career, and the creation of EAA’s Young Eagles program. He was presented for induction by actor Harrison Ford, former chairman of the EAA Young Eagles program.

Other inductees included Apollo astronaut Walt Cunningham; Voyager pilot Dick Rutan; the U.S. Navy TOPGUN school; World War II/Korean War pilot Jerry Coleman, who was also second baseman for the New York Yankees in the 1950s and a hall of fame baseball broadcaster; Bill Gibbs, founder, Montgomery Field and the Gibbs Aircraft Service Center; Dr. Irwin Jacobs of Qualcomm; James Raisbeck, whose company designed hardened security doors for airliners’ flight decks after 9/11; and naval aviation, which marked its centennial this year.

EAA Founder Paul Poberezny was inducted into the same hall of fame in 1996.


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map