EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

Seven Entries for EAA’s Electric Flight Prize


February 17, 2011 — There is a buzz in the air surrounding the $60,000 Electric Flight Prize at EAA AirVenture 2011. Initial applications are filtering in from innovators ready to showcase their advancements in electric flight at “The World’s Greatest Aviation Celebration.” AirVenture 2011 attendees will have an opportunity to witness the future of electric flight on display and in action through this contest, which will highlight an amazing array of new powerplant and airframe designs.

To date, EAA has received initial applications on the following aircraft:

  • ElectraFlyer-C, a single-place aircraft that was flown at Oshkosh in 2008.
  • ElectraFlyer-X, a two-place aircraft.
  • ElectraFlyer-ULS, a single-place ultralight that was flown at Oshkosh in 2007.
  • Pipistrel Taurus Electro, the first two-seat aircraft powered by an electric engine to fly in the world.
  • Pipistrel Taurus Rapid, a four-place featuring a 75-foot wingspan.
  • Sonex Electric Waiex, a standard Waiex kit aircraft modified with the installation of proprietary e-flight electric power components.
  • V-Raptor Electro Flyer, featuring a 20-hp motor and a composite structure.

Formal acceptance into the contest will be made by EAA, following review of all applications. A maximum of 12 entries will be accepted into the contest due to logistical restraints.

Three flight competitions held during AirVenture 2011, along with an electric aircraft innovation evaluation, will determine prize recipients.

$60,000 Electric Flight Prize events

  • Endurance (Tuesday, July 26)
  • Time to Climb (Wednesday, July 27)
  • Maximum Speed (Thursday, July 28)
  • Innovation Evaluation (Overall) – Top three developments in electric flight based on battery, motor, controller, and airframe.

Cash prizes totaling $60,000 will be awarded to the winners of each category as well as the overall winner of the Electric Flight Competition. The prizes and support for the competition comes from Wicks Aircraft Supply, Dynon Avionics, Aircraft Spruce & Specialty, and AeroLEDs – four companies highly active in the sport aviation community.

Each activity will be scored and plaques will be awarded to the aircraft placing first, second, or third in each category. The first place winners in endurance, time to climb, maximum speed, and innovation will receive $10,000. The overall winner of the Electric Flight Prize, based on the highest cumulative score, will receive $20,000. It may not be necessary to place first in each event to win the overall category.

Click here for more information, official rules, and initial application form. Completed applications can be e-mailed here.


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map