EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

2010 Collier Trophy Nominees Announced

Collier Trophy

February 10, 2011 — The Collier Trophy, known as the “Greatest Award in Aviation,” has been the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement for more than 100 years. Awarded annually “for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” and has been awarded to both individuals and aerospace projects that have significantly impacted aviation in the United States. The 2010 nominees include The Automatic Ground Collision Avoidance System Fighter Risk Reduction Program Team, General Aviation: Saving Thousands of Lives in Haiti, MC-12W  Project Liberty Team, Orion Launch Abort System Development Team, Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation and the X2 Technology Demonstrator Team, The Boeing Company C-17A Globemaster III Team, and the X-51A WaveRider Team.

The National Aeronautic Association, which awards the trophy, announced that Neil Armstrong, Dick Rutan, and Richard Truly, all former Collier Trophy recipients, will participate in the selection committee for the 100th presentation of the Robert J. Collier Trophy. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry, and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs that have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International Space Station.


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map