EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

Petri Named Chairman of Aviations Subcommittee

Calls FAA reauthorization 'top priority'

Tom Petri

January 21, 2011 —Rep. Thomas Petri (R-Wis.) has been named chairman of the House Subcommittee on Aviation for the new Congress by Rep. John L. Mica (R-Fla.), chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. Mica also named Chip Cravaack (R-Minn.) vice chairman. Previous chairman Jerry Costello (D-Ill.) is the ranking member from the Democratic Party.

“I am looking forward to a busy two years ahead in the Subcommittee,” Petri said. “Our top priority is to get the Federal Aviation Administration Reauthorization passed and signed into law. Although the House passed reauthorizations in 2007 and again in 2009, controversial provisions in both bills prevented them from moving forward. We will continue our oversight of the FAA’s troubled effort to implement ‘NextGen,’ the modernization of the air traffic control system.”

Other issues Petri mentioned were implementation of the airline safety and pilot training improvement law passed in 2010; the condition and state of the general and commercial aviation industries; the treatment of passengers; and close monitoring of aviation security issues and their impacts on the industry.

Mica remarked, “The message from the voters in November was clear. The committee must find ways to create jobs, cut waste in government, and do more with less. This important work begins at the subcommittees, and I am confident these experienced chairmen and members will provide dedicated, effective leadership as the subcommittees work to improve our nation’s infrastructure in a fiscally responsible manner.”

House Aviation Subcommittee members:

Thomas Petri (R-Wis.), Chairman
Chip Cravaack (R-Minn.) Vice Chairman
Howard Coble (N.C.)
John J. Duncan, Jr. (Tenn.)
Frank LoBiondo (N.J.)
Sam Graves (Mo.)
Jean Schmidt (Ohio)
Tom Reed (N.Y.)
Frank Guinta (N.H.)
Randy Hultgren (Ill.)
Blake Farenthold (Texas)
Billy Long (Mo.)
Patrick Meehan (Pa.)
Stephen Fincher (Tenn.)
Steve Southerland (Fla.)
James Lankford (Okla.)
John Mica (Fla.), (ex officio)

Jerry Costello (Ill.) - Ranking Democratic Member
Russ Carnahan (Mo.)
Daniel Lipinski (Ill.)
Peter DeFazio (Ore.)
Bob Filner (Calif.)
Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas)
Leonard Boswell (Iowa)
Tim Holden (Pa.)
Michael Capuano (Mass.)
Mazie Hirono (Hawaii)
Steve Cohen (Tenn.)
Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
Nick J. Rahall (W.Va.) (ex officio)


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map