EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Tools:   Bookmark and Share Font Size: default Font Size: medium Font Size: large

Entries Being Accepted for Lindbergh 'LEAP' Electric Flight Awards

Erik Lindbergh


June 17, 2010 — Entries for the inaugural Lindbergh Electric Aircraft Prize (LEAP), honoring advancement in electric flight, are now being accepted, with the prize winners to be announced during the World Symposium on Electric Aircraft presented by GE Aviation Systems at EAA AirVenture 2010 in Oshkosh. LEAP will be an annual group of prizes designed to promote the practical development of electric aircraft by recognizing meaningful advances in the emerging electric aircraft industry.

“LEAP is inspiring the next generation to investigate, showcase, and leverage solutions for aviation and beyond,” said Erik Lindbergh, grandson of aviation pioneer Charles Lindbergh and founder of the nonprofit Creative Solutions Alliance, LEAP sponsor. “AirVenture is the perfect setting to honor those building the future where the future is already on display.” Prize presentations will be made Friday, July 30, at the symposium.
The 2010 LEAP categories include:

  • Best Electric Aircraft: Awarded for the best example of a practical electric aircraft in any category – experimental, LSA, or certified.
  • Best Electric Aircraft Sub-system or Component Technology: Defined as a set of components designed to work together to accomplish a specific task which advances the field of electric aircraft in both performance and practicality (e.g., electric powertrains, energy storage systems, charging systems) or individual components that serve to advance the performance and practicality of electric aircraft (e.g., batteries, electric motors, power electronics).
  • Individual Achievement Award: Granted for significant individual achievement in the field of electric flight. To be awarded for a single event or cumulative effort in any of the following areas: engineering, design, public outreach, regulatory, or education.

Entry forms and more information are available on LEAP’s website, www.lindbergprize.org. Entry deadline is Wednesday, July 14.
Finalists will be selected from the pool of applicants. For the Best Electric Aircraft and Best Electric Aircraft Sub-system or Component Technology prizes, finalists must attend AirVenture in order to participate in the final judging. The contestants for the Individual Achievement Award can be self-nominated or nominated by someone else, and need not be present to win.

“Hosting the pioneering technology of electric aircraft is a natural for EAA AirVenture since it has always been the annual showcase for what’s new in the world of flight,” said Tom Poberezny, EAA chairman/president and AirVenture chairman. “This area will play an increasing role in aviation over the next several years. AirVenture attendees can meet and hear from the innovators themselves and find out more about what it means for individual aircraft owners and pilots.”

Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map