EAA - Experimental Aircraft Association  

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Light Plane World

[ Home | Subscribe | Issues | Articles | Poll ]

Nominations Sought for IAC Non-Flying Awards

By Allyson Parker-Lauck, IAC Awards Chairman, IAC 15590

Is there somebody in your chapter who is the go-to person when something needs to be done? Do you know a judge who is the first person you call and ask to serve as a chief judge before you make any other contest plans? When you make a mistake in one of your flights and hope you don’t get caught, is there one judge who you know would have caught it if she had been on the line? Is there a person in your club who promotes our sport and mentors new members better than anyone else you’ve seen? Do you know an aircraft builder, designer, or innovator who outshines the rest? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then please read on…

Each year at the U.S. National Aerobatic Championships, the International Aerobatic Club presents five special non-flying awards. The nomination period is now open for IAC members to submit nominations for the Robert L. Heuer Judges Award (judging excellence), the Frank Price Cup (outstanding individual in aerobatics), the Harold E. Neumann Award (excellence as a chief judge), the Kathy Jaffe Volunteer Award, and the Curtis Pitts Memorial Trophy for Innovative Design. These five prestigious awards will be presented at the U.S. Nationals awards banquet. Nominations are based on the significant contributions of individuals for their achievements according to the criteria of the award in the previous contest year, 2010.

A complete history of each award may be found on the IAC website along with the lists of past recipients, pictures of the master trophies, and nomination petition. Nominations are welcome from either individual members or collectively as a chapter. Chapter meetings are a good forum to discuss potential candidates. The nomination deadline is June 15, 2011. For more information, please see the above website or contact Awards Chairman Allyson Parker-Lauck at aplauck@gmail.com.

Last year, the Robert L. Heuer Judges Award went unawarded due to a lack of nominees! Let’s prevent that from happening again this year! I look forward to seeing your submissions.


Copyright © 2014 EAA Advertise With EAA :: About EAA :: History :: Job Openings :: Annual Report :: Contact Us :: Disclaimer/Privacy :: Site Map